"Embracing Challenges: Navigating my Tech journey without a laptop"

"Embracing Challenges: Navigating my Tech journey without a laptop"

How I have been able to keep going in Tech without owning a laptop! My challenging and happy moments.

Heaw! What a journey...

Looking back at where and how I started my tech journey, I must say it's been one hell of a ride! The good, the bad and the ugly are definitely what makes my journey worth it. Lest I forget, I must warn you that this article is not your typical read. Go get your handkerchief let's cry and laugh together...

💡
"limitations gat nothing on us unless we allow it".

My early beginning

I lost count of the number of times I heard people say:

We all have different journeys, don't compare yourself to others

I started my tech career in August 2022 during one of those long strikes as a student in a federal university. I previously wrote about how I got into tech, you can read it here.

As a mathematics student, I fell in love with Data Science/Analytics. I chose to kick-start my career not because I had all the necessary resources I needed but because this is something I am passionate about. Don't get me wrong yeah? Passion alone cannot do it as you need the resources to keep going. In fact, you need a source of income but trust me when I say your passion should come first. This will not only give room for growth and opportunities but also endow you with perseverance.

As for me, my tech career started with no laptop, no source of income, no financial support, just friends and YouTube resources. Hence, the essence of this article...

As you read this, keep in mind that you can achieve whatever you set your mind to.

What You Gonna Do Comments GIF by Holly Logan

My Journey so far!

Writing this article and putting my thoughts together has helped me see how far I have come and how much I have grown.

I started learning Data analysis with my phone, I initially started with Excel and Python resources on YouTube till I got the Udacity Pre-nano Degree program, next the "Ada Software Engineering Scholarship" and then the Datacamp Scholarship. This wasn't easy but one hack that helped me was the fact that I jot/write things down while taking these courses and learning with my phone.

  • Let's start with Excel.

    When I started learning Excel, it was difficult for me as I couldn't do most things in Excel or Google Sheets using my phone. I had to start jotting down vital information and metrics that I didn’t want to forget. I poured most of my knowledge into a book while taking Excel courses...

I wrote formulas and tried several examples with a pen and paper sketch. When I got to that point where I was to work on one of my Excel portfolio projects, a friend lent me her laptop and I was able to work on the project using everything I learnt and some things I put down in that book. The book served as a fallback and I didn’t have to retake the courses or anything.

Here is the trick, it got easier with SQL. I will explain but first, here is one of the projects I did with Excel.

  • Next is SQL.....

    Due to SQL's structure, I found platforms with SQL IDEs in their learning environment. Examples are Datacamp and Udacity. I learnt with these platforms and they came in very handy.

    Don't forget, I was doing all these things with my phone while I also practised using an app called SQL code play!.....

    Images showing a glimpse of the queries I practised on my phone
    They are all screenshots from my mobile device

Images from my phone

When I was ready to work on projects, I had to borrow a friend's laptop again. click here to see my first SQL project.

There are several other resources like SQL mode and SQL bolt I used. I recommend SQL mode as it is comprehensive in teaching SQL.

I like jotting things down while learning and "SQL mode" helped me a lot.

To practice interview questions, Datalemur is efficient. It has questions and problems that can help you solidify what you have learned.

The truth is that there is always a way out if you are determined to learn and upskill. It might not be easy but trust me, it’s worth it.

Joe Biden Politics GIF by The Democrats

The CONs

Amidst these learning processes, there are days I feel I should give up, days I can't fathom just where the whole stress will lead me, days I tell myself that "tech" isn't for me, days I choose to stay idle, days I feel like I am wasting my time, days I just stare at the ceiling, days I even decide to give up and there are also days I prefer to count the stars instead of reaching for the stars.

Here are certain things that broke me as regards not owning a laptop and how I overcame them:

  • Applying for a laptop and not getting shortlisted

    This part has always been the most painful part of the whole challenge. I do not have the idea/feeling of entitlement. I also understand that the perception of urgency for this resource is interpreted relative to the mind of the person reading the applications. Nevertheless, I am still left to feel sad for not getting shortlisted. There is always this wave of giving up that passes through me for the first three days after rejection but either way, I have learnt to always pick myself up and continue my journey. One thing that has helped me is the passion I have for this career and the constant reminder that giving up won't get me what I want either.

  • Battling to maintain high grades in school while pursuing a career in tech

    Not having a laptop as a techie is one thing, being a university student pursuing a tech career without a laptop resource is another thing. You can only Imagine the kind of stress I have had to go through, coupled with the fact that I am trying to maintain high grades in school. When I got enrolled in the "Ada Software Engineering Program", on most occasions, I go to a cousin or friend's place after a 7:30 am - 4:00 pm class just to do certain tasks/complete a collaborative project which was time-draining. See one of them here. One way I overcame this was to appropriately plan myself and my time.

  • Difficulty in working on projects, giving back to the community and Contributing to Open source.

    I started my tech career by learning Python and I have been looking to upskill and contribute to open source ever since. This is one thing I feel I can't manipulate my way through due to the lack of this resource. I am also big on giving back to the tech community but this has been limited in some ways as I am left to use other means and can't take up hands-on technical workshops. So many project ideas are also left to dangle and remain as mere imaginations in my head due to the lack of this same resource.

    I have been able to overcome these limitations by keying into my passion and telling myself to keep doing what I do best.

okay, okay,..... don't cry for me. wait till you get to the PROs.

Above all, I think passion is key.

The PROs

At this juncture, you need to know that one's effort does pay off. It may seem as though you are stagnant with zero progress but taking a moment to reflect on your journey genuinely will make you smile and want to keep striving. This reminds me of Chisom Nwokwu's book titled "A Techies Guide into Big Tech Companies"

"your dreams are valid and nothing is impossible." - Chisom C. Nwokwu

Amidst the difficulties and challenges faced, there have always been gleams of hope. Here are some of them:

  • Getting one of the best data analysts in the data field to mentor me

    Throwback to when I shot this shot at my mentor Tina Okonkwo. My mentorship experience has been one of the best decisions of my data career... I won't be saying much on this one as I will be dropping a different article on this

  • Getting an Interview call for a Job

    My mentor shared an opportunity for a Job opening and I did as she would always say. She always told us to just apply as far as we met major criteria. I have always battled with imposter syndrome but still decided to test my CV as she had just concluded a session on "how to structure your CV". Lo and behold! I got a call for a scheduled interview on a Monday morning. Unfortunately, being a student, location, and as usual lack of resources (laptop) prohibited me. It's still a win, a big win for me that I was able to get here even without a laptop.

    In addition to this, during the same period, I landed an international Internship but I couldn't meet the deadline due to school and the laptop challenge.

Oh my God!..... I have so many other wins to drop here, but I guess I will stop here as this article is getting lengthy. I might just write a separate one just to highlight my wins as a techie without a laptop.

Conclusion

Though I am not yet where I want to be and still don't have a laptop, I hope my story helps you see through yourself cos we all deserve a pat on the back irrespective of our journey. Do not give up!..... You sef don try!

There Cheer GIF - There Cheer Up GIFs

Whatever the case may be, I am and will always remain grateful for my progress and where I am. Special thanks to all those rooting for me, always by me to serve as my support system and those who hope to see me shine.

Step 1: keep the ground running and reach for the stars!

click here to connect with me on Twitter and here to connect with me on LinkedIn.

Resources

https://giphy.com/

https://tenor.com/

SQL mode

SQL bolt

Datalemur

Udacity

free code camp

Microsoft Learn