My 2022 Wrap

My 2022 Wrap

2022 I would say is my toughest yet most productive year so far.

How I Started:

My year started with confusion. I had just entered my second year in the university and felt very confused with the direction/path my life was taking. I didn't know and wasn't sure what the future had in store for me. Although as of this date, I am not yet actualized I can feel a gleam of hope within.

I made new and great friends towards the middle of the year as one of them introduced me to tech. He started by telling me how lucrative it was and convinced me to try it out. Well, as they say... "Any way na way”. I decided to try it out just for the moment since I didn't have much of a choice and didn't like the idea of running the regular "online vendor” business almost every young lady was into at that time.

I borrowed a laptop from a family member and I started learning data analysis(this was probably around September period). I applied for lots of learning scholarships and finally got enrolled on the “Ada software engineering program” sponsored by Enugu state tech hub. Meanwhile, as a student at a federal university, the usual strike had begun and I had to go home from school to start working. I was battling through making money and focusing on my tech skills. I am grateful I made friends in tech and joined communities. I was also ready to drop out of school to just focus on tech because my life already revolved around it.

The laptop I was using got spoilt and I has to take lessons with my phone. Well, as they say... "Miracle no dey tire my God". I got another means to borrow. Yes, you read that right, I said: "borrow". I stopped working at a stage, decided to go heads on and I became much more productive. The strike was called off and I had to return to school. I would say this was the peak of my journey cos I was already fully into the tech thingy.

My Challenges:

Apart from financial challenges which I already stated, I was also faced with the problem of time and access to learning devices. The strike was called off and I had to write exams for that semester. I also faced the problem of being packed with a lot of projects and deadlines which I had to drop to prepare for my exams. I lagged and it wasn't easy getting back up. Other problems I faced include:

  • Resources overload

  • Network problems

  • Light

  • Procrastination

  • Imposter syndrome.

My Next year:

My next year would most definitely be better than this year as I intend to double up my efforts and meet at least 70% of my yearly goal.

Conclusion:

Although I didn't achieve all my aims this year, I am glad that I was very productive. I made big moves this year and I am grateful to God.

"We go again next year".

*** Yours truly,***

Chisom Chibuike.

sending lots of love and light your way.